The Petra School was founded in 1980/1981 by His Royal Highness Prince El Hassan bin Talal and the late Professor Abdus Salam together with dedicated Jordanian physicists from the University of Jordan and Yarmouk University. The School was named after Petra, that miracle of a city in the south of Jordan which industrious Nabateans carved in the rosy rocks of the mountains more than two millennia ago. The PSP aims to stimulate scientific research in Jordan and neighbouring countries at an international level. It is sponsored by both the University of Jordan and Yarmouk University and cosponsored by the International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP). The purpose of the Ninth PSP is to present the state-of-the-art of research in the Physics of Nano Structured Materials from both theoretical and application points of view. Lectures will be given by leading international experts. The PSP is intended for PhD, Master’s students, postdocs and researchers who are interested in the field of Nano Physics. The School also seeks to initiate a collaboration between Jordanian researchers and their peers in the region, and the world. The School will take place in Amman and in Petra and its official language is English.